Founders Park named a potential host site for NCAA Tournament play

The 20 sites will be paired down to 16 on Sunday, May 30.
Founders Park.
Founders Park.(South Carolina Athletics)
Updated: May. 14, 2021 at 3:06 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

COLUMBIA, S.C. (WIS) - Founders Park has been announced as one of the 20 predetermined preliminary-round sites for the 2021 Division I Baseball Championship, the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced Friday.

Due to the health and safety protocols surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic, it was deemed necessary to conduct NCAA championship competition at predetermined sites.

Of the 20 selected sites, the committee will choose 16 to host regional-round games. Eight of those 16 regional sites will host super regionals.

”Certainly, this has been a unique season, but the committee is very appreciative of all of the schools that submitted bids to host. We received a number of quality bids from schools around the country that were interested in being a part of this championship, including a few potential first-time hosts,” said Jeff Altier, chair of the committee and director of athletics at Stetson. “We are extremely excited to bring the Division I Baseball Championship back in 2021 and let the student-athletes, coaches and fans once again experience this terrific event.”

Based on recent guidance from the NCAA COVID-19 Medical Advisory Group, the NCAA will allow up to 50% fan capacity at these predetermined sites. Exact capacity percentages will vary by site, depending on state and local health mandates due to the pandemic.

The designation of predetermined sites will have no bearing on the teams selected to participate or for seeding in the 2021 Division I Baseball Championship. The championship field will consist of 30 conference automatic qualifiers and 34 at-large qualifiers.

The final 16 predetermined sites will be revealed at 8:30 p.m. Eastern time Sunday, May 30.

The bracket and pairings for the 2021 Division I Baseball Championship will be released at noon Eastern time Monday, May 31.

NCAA Division I Baseball Predetermined Preliminary-Round Sites include:

  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Charlotte
  • East Carolina
  • Florida
  • Gonzaga
  • Louisiana Tech
  • Ole Miss
  • Mississippi State
  • Notre Dame
  • Oregon
  • Pittsburgh
  • South Carolina
  • Southern Miss
  • Stanford
  • Tennessee
  • TCU
  • Texas Tech
  • Texas
  • Vanderbilt

Notice a spelling or grammar error in this article? Click or tap here to report it. Please include the article's headline.

Copyright 2021 WIS. All rights reserved.