Gamecocks see another SEC contest postponed

Gamecocks see another SEC contest postponed
(Source: (Photo: Ryan Bethea, 247Sports))

COLUMBIA, S.C. (The Big Spur) - On Saturday night, the Southeastern Conference announced the men’s basketball contest between Tennessee and South Carolina on Jan. 12 is postponed due to a “combination of positive tests, contact tracing and subsequent quarantining of individuals within the South Carolina basketball program.” On Thursday, the Gamecocks (3-2, 1-0) were forced to pause all team activities and postpone Saturday’s road contest against Ole Miss for the same reason.

This marks the third conference game the Gamecocks have had to postpone due to COVID-19 protocols. Their scheduled conference opener against Kentucky on Dec. 29 was not able to be played. Frank Martin’s squad came out of quarantine and isolation in time to play Florida A&M on Jan. 2 and Texas A&M on Jan. 6, both wins at home at Colonial Life Arena.

In December alone, the Gamecocks had to cancel three non-conference games against Wofford (Dec. 10), at George Washington (Dec. 19), and S.C. State (Dec. 23). The Dec. 19 contest with Clemson is currently considered labeled as “postponed” on the team’s official schedule on GamecocksOnline.com, but that game is not likely to be played.

South Carolina’s remaining schedule:

Sat., Jan. 16 - at LSU – 8:30 pm

Tue., Jan. 19 - at Missouri – 7 pm

Sat., Jan. 23 – Auburn – 12 pm

Wed., Jan. 27 – Georgia 7 pm

Sat., Jan. 30 - at Vanderbilt – 8:30 pm

Wed., Feb. 3 - at Florida – 6:30 pm

Sat., Feb. 6 - Mississippi State – 3:30 pm

Tue., Feb. 9 – Alabama – 6:30 pm

Sat., Feb. 13 - Ole Miss – 6 pm

Tue., Feb. 16 - at Tennessee – 8:30 pm

Sat., Feb. 20 – Missouri – 2 OR 4 pm

Wed., Feb. 24 - at Mississippi State – 7 pm

Sat., Feb. 27 - at Georgia – 1 pm

Tue., March 2 – Arkansas – 6:30 pm

TBD – at Kentucky

TBD – at Ole Miss

TBD – Tennessee

March 10-14 - SEC Tournament (Nashville)

*bold denotes home games

Copyright 2021 The Big Spur. All rights reserved.