Local counties now eligible for infrastructure damage reimbursement from FEMA

Local counties now eligible for infrastructure damage reimbursement from FEMA

COLUMBIA, SC (WMBF) – State agencies, local governments, and non-profit organizations in 18 South Carolina counties, including Horry, Georgetown, Florence, Marion and Dillon counties, are now eligible to receive recoup costs through FEMA for infrastructure damage caused by Hurricane Matthew.

These agencies in all local counties, excluding Darlington County, are now eligible to receive partial reimbursement for costs related to debris removal, emergency protective measures, and damage to roads and bridges, water control facilities, buildings, equipment, utilities, parks, recreational facilities, and other items, according to a news release from the South Carolina Emergency Management Division. Darlington County is only eligible for debris removal and emergency protective measures, but possible reimbursement for the other categories is still being assessed by local, state and federal officials.

Typical, the federal share of reimbursement is 75 percent, according to the release.

FEMA has already approved direct individual assistance to residents who experienced losses from Hurricane Matthew in the following local counties: Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Georgetown, and Marion. Although individual assistance has not yet been approved by FEMA in Horry County, representatives with FEMA are assessing, and the Horry County Emergency Management Division expects to hear something this week, according to a tweet from the agency. To date, no county has been denied any federal aid by FEMA, the release states.

Whether you are in an a county already granted individual assistance or not, if you have been affected by Hurricane Matthew, you are encouraged to register with FEMA and fill out an assistance application here: https://www.disasterassistance.gov/get-assistance/find-assistance

Copyright 2016 WMBF News. All rights reserved.