Northsiders earn state supremacy with win over South

North tops South in Touchstone Energy Bowl

MYRTLE BEACH, S.C. (WMBF) - The North all-star team got back in the win column after beating the South 37-27 in the Touchstone Cooperatives Energy Bowl on Saturday afternoon at Doug Shaw Stadium. The upstaters outscored the south 21-14 in the second half to claim a lead and never let it go.

Chapin quarterback Logan Bailey was named the offensive MVP for the North; he went 15-26 passing for 272 yards and two touchdowns along with one interception. Wren High's Bailey Rogers was the team's defensive MVP after picking up two interceptions.

For the South side, Dillon's Avery McCall took offensive MVP honors after picking up 96 rush yards and a touchdown, along with throwing for 185. Quintavis Davis of Goose Creek was the defensive MVP after taking an interception 65 yards the other way for a touchdown.

The two teams have split the series 2-2 over the last four years. Several local players stood out in the annual matchup:
-Christian Bruce, Wilson wide receiver had 58 yards and a touchdown reception
-Drayton Arnold, Myrtle Beach quarterback went 7-13 for 101 yards and a touchdown (to Bruce)
-Jah'Maine Martin, Conway running back ran eight times for 33 yards and had the first touchdown of the game
-DaeShawn Davis, Dillon linebacker had an interception, a sack and five tackles
-Trey Ceasar from Lamar was turned to defensive back and had two tackles, and is the only area player to be part of the winning effort

The Shrine Bowl between North Carolina and South Carolina kicks off at 1:00 on December 19th in Spartanburg, and will officially wrap up the high school football season. Conway's Bryan Edwards (won't play due to injury), Dillon's Adonis Sealey and Hartsville's Datavious Wilson are the three local players that were selected to the game.