Carolina Forest High School wins mock congressional competition

Carolina Forest High School winners: Source: Press Release
Carolina Forest High School winners: Source: Press Release

HORRY COUNTY, SC (WMBF) – Carolina Forest High School won the "We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution competition that was held on Jan. 9. This is the school's fifth state title. The students also discussed critical issues regarding the American government, founding fathers and current events based on a constitutional perspective.

Participating students included Ryan Alawar, Erick Alvarado, Jonathan Burlinson, Evan Cox, Tori Creekmore, Ryan Custer, John Daniels, Chelsea DeChamplain, Taylor Estes, Emily Felig, Ryan Flynn, Dylan Fowler, Dillon Graham, James Hatton, Tyler Hazleton, Gunner Huggins, Linda Irving, Robert Jolly, Logan Jones, Patty Kramer, Rachael La Valle, Sarah Jane Lowe, Luke Mills, Keith Negri, Preston Nettle, Autumn Owens, Eden Perets, Alisha Petrizzo, Kasee Poat, Jauntavia Prather, Robbie Reardon, CJ Reyes, Joey Riotto, Kay Sheth, Jake Smith, Billy Sparks, Melanie Stefanchik, Kalie Strange, Austin Strickland, Jessie Strickland, Paige Thompson, Chandler White, Abel Wilson, Michael Wynne and Ryan Yurachek. The teacher coach was JJ Iagulli. – SC Bar News release.

About the S.C. Bar LRE Division:

"The S.C. Bar's LRE Division, which was developed to improve the ability of teachers to instruct law related education, has been part of the Bar since 1976. We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution is made possible by a grant from the Center for Civic Education and an IOLTA grant from the S.C. Bar Foundation. The South Carolina Bar, which has a membership of more than 14,500 lawyers, is dedicated to advancing justice, professionalism and understanding of the law."- A SC Bar News release states

Carolina Forest High School is eligible to compete on April 25-28 for the We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution National Finals to be held at George Mason University in Farifax, Va.

Copyright 2014. WMBF News. All rights reserved.