Big South splitting into two divisions for 2012-13 men's bball season

Courtesy: Big South Media Relations

CHARLOTTE, NC – With the Big South Conference's membership reaching an all-time high of 12 institutions on July 1, the League formally announced today new scheduling formats for men's and women's basketball beginning in 2012-13, as well as divisional play on the men's side.  In addition, the Conference released the tournament seeding and pairing procedures for the 2013 Big South Basketball Championships.  Below is a breakdown of the changes within each sport:

Men's Basketball

Beginning in 2012-13, Big South men's basketball will feature a 16-game schedule with two six-team divisions.  Games will be played on Wednesday and Saturday, which may be adjusted for institutional policies if needed.  The yet-to-be named divisions are as follows:

Campbell                                              Charleston Southern

High Point                                             Coastal Carolina

Liberty                                                   Gardner-Webb

Longwood                                             Presbyterian

Radford                                                 UNC Asheville

VMI                                                       Winthrop

The 16-game schedule will include two games against divisional opponents (10 total), and one crossover game against the opposing division (6 total).  Division champions will be recognized, and all 12 teams will participate in the Conference Championship.  Seeding will be by divisions -- the top two teams with the best overall Conference won-loss percentage in each division shall receive the top four seeds in the championship and first round byes.  The remaining seeds shall be determined based on division finish.  In the event of a tie for a particular seed, the seed will be determined within each division.  A sample bracket with the pairings is attached.

Women's Basketball

In 2012-13, Big South women's basketball teams will play an unbalanced 18-game schedule, with each school playing eight teams twice and two teams once.  Games will be played on Thursday and Saturday.  Most teams will play two Conference games prior to January 1, with the League season resuming Jan. 3, 2013.  All 11 teams will participate in the Conference Championship, and an additional tiebreaker procedure to address tied teams impacted by the unbalanced schedule is now part of the process to determine seedings.  Seeding will be based on overall Conference record, with the top five teams receiving a bye into the quarterfinals.  A sample bracket with the pairings is attached.

Meanwhile, beginning in 2013-14, the women's schedule moves to a 20-game, double round-robin slate.