2 inductees added to rankings of MB Golf Hall of Fame

Myrtle Beach, SC - MYRTLE BEACH, SC (WMBF) - Two golf industry leaders have been inducted into the Myrtle Beach Golf Hall of Fame during a Thursday morning ceremony at the Pine Lakes Country Club.

The 2010 inductees included George W. "Buster" Bryan, a founding father of the Myrtle Beach golf package business, and Gary Schaal, a local and national golf industry leader for more than 30 years.

"The Myrtle Beach Golf Hall of Fame is a focal point for the rich golf history of Myrtle Beach," Bob Swezey, executive vice president of resort operations for Burroughs & Chapin Company, Inc., said.

Bryan, who passed away at the age of 56 in 1969, helped transform the seaside town into a world-class golfing destination.

During the 1960s, Bryan created Myrtle Beach's first golf promotion group, Golf-o-tel. Eight courses and eight hotels were under the umbrella of Golf-o-tel, which were used to advertise Myrtle Beach's golf potential across the nation.

"I personally think [Bryan] was the father of golf in Myrtle Beach," W. Cecil Brandon, a 2009 inductee, said. "[Bryan] was the first one who put up the money to promote Myrtle Beach golf packages and he inspired others to join together to promote golf."

Schaal is said to have turned a large spotlight on Myrtle Beach after being elected the 28th president of the PGA of America. PGA of America is the largest professional sports organization in the world, according to Hall of Fame officials.

Schaal began his career as an assistant golf pro in Myrtle Beach, later becoming a member of the Carolinas PGA Section in 1976. During the 1980s and 1990s, he served the community as a member of the PGA Tour's Tournament Policy Board.

He was also recognized with a number of awards during his career, including the CPGA Horton Smith Trophy and CPGA Professional of the Year.

The Myrtle Beach Golf Hall of Fame was created in 2009 to honor those who have played significant roles in all aspects of the golfing industry along the Grand Strand.

Copyright 2010 WMBF News. All rights reserved.