Area Adopt-A-Highway groups honored by SCDOT

Columbia, SC - COLUMBIA, SC (WMBF) - The South Carolina Department of Transportation is recognizing several area groups for their efforts to keep the Palmetto State's highways clean in 2009.

The following were named the Outstanding 2009 Adopt-A-Highway Group of the Year by SCDOT:

  • Horry County: Heather Lakes
  • Darlington County: First Baptist Youth
  • Dillon County: Hazy Grove Youth
  • Florence County: Meadow Prong Crime Community Watch
  • Georgetown County: Sampit Community Watch
  • Marion County: Midland Elementary School (also named District Group of the Year for District 5, which covers Darlington Dillon, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Marion, Marlboro and Williamsburg counties)
  • Marlboro County: Bubba's Gang/In Memory of Bubba
  • Williamsburg County: Trio-Concern Citizens 81-50

SCDOT presented the award to the groups at the Adopt-A-Highway awards ceremony on Thursday, April 29, 2010 in Columbia. The annual event is hosted by SCDOT to recognize the volunteer-citizen groups, coordinators and SCDOT employees for their participation in the Adopt-A-Highway program.

Copyright 2010 WMBF News. All rights reserved.