FMU holds 40th annual athletic banquet

From Francis Marion University:

FLORENCE, SC – Francis Marion University recently held its 40th-annual Athletic Banquet in the university's Edward S. Ervin III Dining Hall.

Most Valuable Player awards were given in 14 sports. An outstanding cheerleader award and a student-athlete award were also presented.

Gail Summersett Outlaw Outstanding Cheerleader Award: Crystal Robinson

Conyers O'Bryan M.V.P. Award for baseball: Barrett Kleinknecht

Howard Stokes M.V.P. Award for men's basketball: Simel Boyd

Carroll Player Jr. M.V.P. Award for women's basketball: Shannon Singleton-Bates

Most Valuable Player Award for men's cross country: Hillary Kiprop

Carolyn Bishop Frate M.V.P. Award for women's cross country: Amanda Doyle

Clifford Cormell Jr. M.V.P. Award for golf: Christopher Couch

Joe and Elease Webb M.V.P. Award for men's soccer: Kyle Clinton

Most Valuable Player Award for women's soccer: Angela Salem

Ashley Lynn M.V.P. Award for women's softball: Chelle Phillips

Lorin Mason M.V.P. Award for men's tennis: Dilshod Sharifi

Gladys Hite M.V.P. Award for women's tennis: Tereza Sykorova

Jerry and Jean Lee M.V.P. Award for men's track and field: Tyler Waters

Most Valuable Player Award for women's track and field: Amanda Doyle

Joseph B. DuRant M.V.P. for volleyball: Jess O'Leary

Debra Lee Orander Swamp Fox Academic Award: Emily Brandenburg

Several of the recipients were repeat honorees: Singleton-Bates (2009, 2010), Kiprop (2009, 2010), Couch (2007, 2008, 2010), Salem (2008, 2009, 2010), Sykorova (2008, 2010), and Brandenburg (2009, 2010).

Of the 10 FMU athletic teams that keep win-loss records, seven registered winning records this past year, and five appeared in national poll rankings.

Three teams have earned invitations to the NCAA national tournament, and two others (softball, baseball) are still awaiting the announcement of their tournament fields.