10 FMU student-athletes named to Chi Alpha Sigma Honor Society

Florence, SC - From Francis Marion University

FLORENCE, SC – Francis Marion University athletic officials recently announced the names of 10 Patriot student-athletes named to the university's chapter of Chi Alpha Sigma, the National College Athlete Honor Society.

To earn a place in this honor society, a student-athlete must be at least a junior, have a 3.40 cumulative grade point average on a 4.00 scale, and have an endorsement from his or her respective head coach. The nominees are then screened by a selection committee.

The 2010 inductees are baseball players Alex Lee (Blythewood) and Preston Shuey (Charlotte, N.C.), men's basketball player Mindaugas Petreikis (Siauliai, Lithuania), women's basketball player Nicole Mealing (North Augusta, S.C.), men's soccer player David Balutis (Florence), women's soccer player Elisabeth Dobek (Sterling Heights, Mich.), softball players Emily Dean (Edmonds, Wash.), Cea Knox (Myrtle Beach), and Chelle Phillips (Waukee, Iowa), and women's volleyball player Caitlin Simpson (Scottsdale, Ariz.).

Ten current Patriot student-athletes were previously inducted: baseball players Josh Biggers (Southlake, Texas) and Phillip Mozingo (Florence), women's cross country runner Amanda Doyle (Laurens), women's volleyball player Jess O'Leary (St. Louis, Mo.), women's soccer players Emily Brandenburg (West Columbia), Angela Salem (Copley, Ohio), and Rachel Rubin (Charlotte, N.C.), and women's softball players Kat Beauvais (Manassas, Va.), Michaela Wolf (Littleton, Colo.), and Jessica Birchmeier (Port Richey, Fla.).

Chi Alpha Sigma was founded in May 1996 by DePauw University head football coach Nick Mourouzis. The organization currently has 187 chapters in 40 states. Francis Marion is one of only seven chapters in South Carolina, and FMU was the first school to have a chapter in the Palmetto State.

Over the past 10 years, 90 different FMU student-athletes have earned this honor.

Chi Alpha Sigma's purposes are: to encourage and reward high academic scholarship of college athletes at four-year accredited institutions; to recognize outstanding academic achievement by intercollegiate varsity letterwinners; to encourage good citizenship, moral character, and friendship among the high academic achievers in college athletics; to recognize and honor the individual athlete, his/her team, sport, athletic department, and college or university; and to mentor and to provide leadership to other athletes.