Big South announces men's golf all-conference, all-academic teams

Charlotte, NC - From Big South Sports

CHARLOTTE, N.C. ( – On the eve of the 2010 Big South Men's Golf Championship, the Big South announced half of its All-Conference team as well as its All-Academic Team this evening.

The five All-Conference honorees are voted by the head coaches and is based on regular-season play.  The All-Academic Team is comprised of one student-athlete from each of the Big South's men's golf playing members that meets the necessary criteria for selection.

Liberty's Robert Karlsson, Charleston Southern's Kelvin Day and Coastal Carolina's Dan Obremski highlight this year's All-Conference squad, as all three are now two-time All-Conference honorees.  Karlsson enters the Big South Championship as the Conference's highest-ranked golfer at No. 171 nationally by Golfweek, and is third in the Big South with a 72.89 stroke average.  He posted five Top 10 finishes – tied for the most in the Conference, and is tied for the lowest scoring round of the 2009-10 campaign with a 65.

Day leads the Big South with a 72.81 stroke average and also has five Top 10 finishes to his credit.  He is the No. 174th-ranked collegiate golfer in the nation by Golfweek, was a three-time Big South Golfer of the Week honoree this season and was Charleston Southern's top finisher in seven of nine events this year.

Obremski is fourth in the Conference with a 73.37 stroke average and is ranked No. 177 by Golfweek.  He was named Big South Golfer of the Week two times this season and finished in the Top 10 in four events, including tying for medalist honors at the Oct. 4-5 Windon Memorial.  He also owns the third-lowest scoring round this season in the Big South with a 67.

Also voted to the All-Conference team are Liberty freshman Max McKay and Gardner-Webb freshman Daniel Kim.  McKay is the Big South's highest-ranked freshman at No. 200 nationally, is tied for first in the Conference with five Top 10 finishes and is second in stroke average at 72.85.  Kim has four Top 10 finishes to his credit – including medalist honors at the season-opening Manor Intercollegiate, and is fifth in the League with a 73.41 scoring clip.

The remaining All-Conference members will consist of the top five finishers (and any additional ties) in this week's Championship not among those already named to the team.  Those honorees, as well as the Big South Golfer of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Coach of the Year and Scholar-Athlete of the Year, will be announced following Wednesday's final round.

In addition, five of the eight men's golf playing members placed an individual on the All-Academic Team.  These five individuals met the criteria of having at least a 3.0 cumulative grade point average, be of at least sophomore standing (both academically and athletically) and played in 50 percent of the team's rounds.

One individual from the All-Academic Team will be voted Men's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year by the Big South's Sports Information Directors.  Two student-athletes – Presbyterian College's Patrick Coleman and Gardner-Webb's Scott Wheeler, have now earned multiple All-Academic Team honors in their respective careers.  Coleman is now a three-time selection, while Wheeler makes the team for the second time.  The full team is listed below.

The 2010 Big South Men's Golf Championship is being contested at The Patriot Golf Club at Grand Harbor in Ninety-Six, S.C., and begins Monday, April 19 with the first round beginning at 8:00am.  The 54-hole event continues Tuesday, April 20 and concludes Wednesday, April 21, with the champion receiving the Big South's automatic berth to the NCAA Regionals.  The event is free and open to the public.