2010 Coastal Carolina University Staff Excellence Award winners announced

Conway, SC - CONWAY, SC (WMBF) - Kelli Barker and Sarah Rabon are recipients of Coastal Carolina University's 2010 Staff Excellence Awards. The awards are presented annually to recognize exceptional nonfaculty University employees.

Barker, center manager of the University's Academic Outreach program, received the Professional Staff Excellence Award. She is an alumnus of Incirlik High in Incirlik, Turkey, and she joined the University staff in 2001. Barker was cited for her prompt responsiveness to the needs of the University community, her readiness to go 'above and beyond' her duties, and for representing the University with pride.

Rabon, administrative assistant in the Spadoni College of Education, received the Support Staff Excellence Award. A native of Aynor, Rabon joined the University staff in 1995. Rabon was described as "the epitome of a caring professional." She was cited for being her competence, efficiency, hard work and for the personal interest she takes in helping students.

Other professional staff nominees were Mark Allen, Caroline Madden, Phillip Massey, Kevin Perry and Lois Pierson.

Other support staff nominees were Rosemary Barra, Laura Barr, Margaret DeWolfe, Stephanie Freeman, Molly French, Lisa Gore, Paula Holt, Nyoka Hucks, Michelle Lewis, Rita Smith and Sharon Tully.

Copyright 2010 WMBF News. All rights reserved.