Big South Announces Women's Golf All-Conference, All-Academic Teams

Charlotte, NC - From Big South Sports

CHARLOTTE, N.C. ( – On the eve of the 2010 Big South Women's Golf Championship presented by Musco Sports Lighting, the Big South announced half of its All-Conference team as well as its All-Academic Team this evening.  The five All-Conference selections are voted by the head coaches and is based on regular-season play.  The All-Academic Team is comprised of one student-athlete from each of the Big South's nine women's golf playing members.

Coastal Carolina's Aruka Felgueroso and Charleston Southern's Olivia Jordan-Higgins highlight this year's All-Conference squad, as both are now four-time All-Conference honorees, becoming the seventh and eighth individuals, respectively, in Big South history to be named All-Conference all four years of eligibility.  Felgueroso enters the Big South Championship with a League-best 73.46 stroke average and is the Big South's highest-ranked golfer at No. 64 nationally by Golfweek.  She posted seven Top 10 finishes in nine events this season, and owns the Conference's top three scoring rounds of the 2009-10 campaign.

Jordan-Higgins is second to Felgueroso with a 74.31 scoring average and six Top 10 finishes.  She is ranked No. 199 in the nation by Golfweek and was Charleston Southern's top finisher in nine of 10 events this season.  Also voted to the All-Conference team are Coastal Carolina freshmen Jessica Alexander and Brittany Henderson, and Radford senior Megan Leineweber.  Alexander is the Big South's highest-ranked freshman at No. 186 nationally and is third in the Big South with a 75.50 stroke average.  Henderson is fourth in stroke average at 77.21with and posted one top 10 finish this season.  Leineweber, a two-time Big South Golfer of the Week selection, is sixth in the Conference in stroke average (77.38) and has two Top 10 finishes to her credit.

The remaining All-Conference members will consist of the top five finishers (and any additional ties) in this week's Championship not among those already named to the team.  Those honorees, as well as the Big South Golfer of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Coach of the Year and Scholar-Athlete of the Year, will be announced following Wednesday's final round.

In addition, all nine women's golf playing members placed an individual on the All-Academic Team.  Each school is permitted one representative and must have at least a 3.0 cumulative grade point average and be of at least sophomore standing (both academically and athletically) to be nominated.  Meanwhile, one individual from the All-Academic Team will be voted Women's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year by the Big South's Sports Information Directors.  Four student-athletes – Felgueroso, Charleston Southern's Madison Jeter, Presbyterian College's Kristen Cometto and Radford's Maggie Watts, have now been selected to the Women's Golf All-Academic Team three times.  The full team is listed below.

The 2010 Big South Women's Golf Championship is being contested at The Patriot Golf Club at Grand Harbor in Ninety-Six, S.C., and begins Monday, April 12 with the first round beginning at 8:00am.  The 54-hole event continues Tuesday, April 13 and concludes Wednesday, April 14, with the champion receiving the Big South's automatic berth to the NCAA Regionals.  The event is free and open to the public.