CCU gets No. 1 seed in 2010 Big South Women's Golf Championship

Charlotte, NC - From Big South Sports

CHARLOTTE, NC - Coastal Carolina University has secured the No. 1 seed in next week's Big South Women's Golf Championship presented by Musco Sports Lighting, which will be hosted by Radford University at The Patriot Golf Club in Ninety-Six, SC. Coastal Carolina, last year's champion, receives the No. 1 seed based on its current Golfweek national ranking of 54, the highest among the nine Big South women's golf programs.

Charleston Southern, last year's runner-up, is ranked No. 155 in the nation by Golfweek and receives the No. 2 seed. Winthrop is the No. 3 seed with its ranking of 163, while host Radford earns the No. 4 seed with its national ranking of No. 170. Gardner-Webb, ranked No. 187, will be the No. 5 seed in the championship, with associate women's golf member Bucknell (197) receiving the No. 6 seed. High Point receives the No. 7 seed (No. 215) and associate member Holy Cross (No. 8 – 237) rounds out the official championship field. Presbyterian College, which is ranked No. 200 in the nation, will again participate in the event on an invitation-only basis, as the team is not eligible for the Conference Championship until 2012 due to its transition process to Division I. PC's team and individual scores will not count in the official standings.

The Patriot Club is hosting the Big South Women's Golf Championship for the fourth time, as the course hosted the event in 2005, 2008 and 2009. The 2010 Big South Women's Golf Championship presented by Musco Sports Lighting begins this weekend with a practice round on Sunday, April 11. The three-day, 54-hole event will be played April 12-14 and is free and open to the public. The 2010 champion will receive the Big South's automatic berth to the NCAA Regionals. The Conference Championship schedule is as follows:

Sunday, April 11

  • 1 p.m. - Practice Round

Monday, April 12

  • 8 a.m. - First round
  • 8-8:40 a.m. - #7 High Point, #8 Holy Cross, Presbyterian College
  • 8:50-9:30 a.m. - #4 Radford, #5 Gardner-Webb, #6 Bucknell
  • 9:40-10:20 a.m. - #1 Coastal Carolina, #2 Charleston Southern, #3 Winthrop

Tuesday, April 13

  • 8 a.m. - Second Round

Wednesday, April 14

  • 8 a.m. - Final Round

Meanwhile, the Big South Conference will announce half of its 2010 All-Conference team, which is based on regular-season performance, and the All-Academic Team on Sunday evening following the practice round. The 2010 annual award winners, as well as the remaining All-Conference performers based on Conference Championship finish, will be announced on Wednesday, April 14 during the post-Championship awards ceremony.