Math whizzes compete in annual contest at CCU

Conway, SC - From Coastal Carolina University:

CONWAY, SC - Approximately 184 high school students competed in the 31st annual Coastal Carolina University-Cengage Learning Math Contest held recently on the University's campus. One North Carolina school and 21 South Carolina schools took part in this year's event.

The high schools competing in the 2010 contest were: A.C. Flora, Academic Magnet, Ashley Hall, Aynor, Beaufort Academy, Bishop England, Carvers Bay, Creek Bridge, Conway, Goose Creek, Green Sea Floyds, John T. Hoggard (North Carolina), Mullins, Scholars Academy, Socastee, Wando, West Florence, Williston-Elko and Wilson

School competition winners by category were:

  • Competition 1- Level I: Pinewood Prepatory High School
  • Competition 1- Level II: Academic Magnet High School
  • Competition 2- Level I: A.C. Flora High School
  • Competition 2- Level II: A.C. Flora High School
  • Overall winner: A.C. Flora High School

Individual student winners were:

  • Hardie Cate, A.C. Flora High School
  • Patrick Dynes, Bishop England High School
  • Brook Kirkland, Mullins High School
  • William McAdams, A.C. Flora High School
  • Daniel Monteith, A.C. Flora High School
  • Katherine Moore, Goose Creek High School
  • Sage Price, A.C. Flora High School
  • Lisa Lynn Schnexayder, Scholars Academy
  • Jessica Wang, Spring Valley High School
  • Zack Yaeger, Pinewood Prepatory High School
  • David Zhang, Academic Magnet High School
  • William Zhang, Academic Magnet High School

Students in the competition were given written examinations. Level I questions were taken from Algebra I, Algebra II and Geometry; Level II questions were taken from Algebra, Geometry, Advanced Algebra and Trigonometry. Winners received $100 for first place, $75 for second place and $50 for third place in each category.